Recipients of the Tom Gage Award

2019 George Mathews
2018 Jim Patterson
2017 Doug Torbert
2016 Ralph Fruguglietti
2015 John Goldhammer
2014 John Goldhammer
2013 Myrle Mensey
2012 Ed Burke
2011 Ruth Welding

The Tom Gage Award is presented annually in honor of Tom Gage (1943-2010). Tom was an Olympian in the hammer throw who never stopped competing. He held numerous American and World masters age group records in the hammer, weight and super weight throws and was a frequent national champion or medalist also in the discus throw and shot put. It is presented annually to the male master’s thrower with outstanding achievements in a given year.

Note: Prior to 2017 the award was for the master’s thrower of the year; in 2017 the Vanessa Hilliard Award was created to honor the female master’s thrower of the year.