USA Masters Track and Field

Tom Gage Award
Masters Male Thrower of the Year

Throws Award

The Tom Gage Award is presented annually in honor of Tom Gage (1943-2010). Tom was an Olympian in the hammer throw who never stopped competing. He held numerous American and World masters age group records in the hammer, weight and super weight throws and was a frequent national champion or medalist also in the discus throw and shot put. It is presented annually to the male masters thrower of the year, the thrower with the outstanding achievements in a given year. Nominations should be submitted at least one week prior to the annual USA Masters Throws Championships to the USATF Masters Throwing Events Coordinator. The members of the Throwing Events Subcommittee select the recipient and the award is presented at the dinner during the Championships each year.

Recipients of the Tom Gage Award

2011 Ruth Welding
2012 Ed Burke
2013 Myrle Mensey
2014 John Goldhammer
2015 John Goldhammer
2016 Ralph Fruguglietti
2017 Doug Torbert

Note: Prior to 2017 the award was for the masters thrower of the year; in 2017 the Vanessa Hilliard Award was created to honor the female masters thrower of the year.